Skip to content

Massage Therapy Basic Training October 8, 2023 - February 11, 2024 (Sun. Tues. & Thurs.) 5:30-9:30

  • by
Massage Therapy Basic Training October 8, 2023 - February 11, 2024 (Sun. Tues. & Thurs.) 5:30-9:30


November 16, 2023

Massage Therapy Basic Training
October 8, 2023 - February 11, 2024
Sun. Tues. & Thurs. 5:30-9:30

● Sunday October 8: Kathy: Intro & orientation; History, effects & benefits; Intro
to touch. Homework: chap. 1 & 6
● Tuesday October 10: Peter: Theory & Classifications of Massage movements,
Body mechanics & self care; lubricants & draping. Prone position, rocking.
Homework: chap 7 & 8
● Thursday October 12: Michelle:Contraindications; Hygiene & Infection control;
Supplies & equipment; supine position, effleurage. Homework: chap 3 & 9,
chap 9 match 1 & chap 3 matching 1 & 2
● Sunday October 15: Kathy:The body as a whole; Medical terminology; Cells,
tissues, organs & systems; Anatomical positions & directions. Homework: chap
18 match 1 & 2, ACB 1, 2, 6 & 7
● Tuesday October 17: Peter: Integumentary system; Practice feather/nerve strokes.
Homework: chap 22 match 1, ACB 15 & 16
● Thursday October 19: Michelle: Demo & Practice petrissage & friction.
Homework: chap 8
● Sunday October 22: Michelle: Skeletal system & Kinesiology terms. Homework:
chap. 19 match 1 & 2, ACB 17, 19 & 21
● Tuesday October 24: Peter: Muscular system. Homework: chap 20 match 1 & 2,
ACB 42 & 43
● Thursday October 26: Barbara:Therapeutic relations; Seated Massage.
Homework: chap 2 & 15
● Sunday October 29: Michelle: Demo & Practice percussion, vibrations &
shaking. Homework: chap 8
● Tuesday October 31: Peter: cardiovascular sys. Homework: chap 26, match 1 &
2, ACB 100-104

● Thursday November 2: Peter: Demo & Practice joint movements & stretches.
Homework: chap 8, ACB 20
● Sunday November 5: Michelle: Full stroke review. Homework: chap 7 match 1
& 2 chap 8 match 1 & 2
● Tuesday November 7: Peter: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology of hip & thigh;
palpating & movement. Homework: chap. 21, pgs 427-432, 487-506, ACB
35-38 (59-62)

● Thursday November 9: Michelle: Review m/s & kinesiology hip & thigh, (Dr.
Bob) practice sequence prone lower extremities.
● Sunday November 12: Michelle: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology leg & foot;
palpating & movement. Homework: chap 21pgs 433-435 & 506-516, ACB 39
& 40 (63-65)
● Tuesday November 14: Peter: Review m/s & kinesiology of leg & foot; ( Dr.
Bob) Practice sequence supine lower extremity. Homework: chap 21 match 2 &
6
● Thursday November 16: Barb: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology of back; palpating
& movement. Homework:440-445 & 538-543, ACB 25-27 (47)
● Sunday November 19: Michelle: Review m/s & kinesiology back; ( Dr. Bob)
practice sequence posterior torso (back) Homework: chap. 21
● Tuesday November 21: Peter: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology shoulder; palpating
& movement. Homework: chap 21 pgs 418-421, 448-464, ACB 29, 30 (52-54)
● THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY November 23-26
● Tuesday November 28: Kathy: Review m/ s & kinesiology of shoulder; (Dr. Bob)
practice sequence upper extremities prone. Homework: chap 21 match 4
● Thursday November 30: Michelle: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology of anterior
torso; palpating & movement. Homework: chap 21 pgs 439, 534-537, 544-548,
ACB 28 (48 & 49)

● Sunday December 3: Kathy: Review m/s & kinesiology anterior torso; (Dr. Bob)
practice sequence abdomen & chest

● Tuesday December 5: Peter: Musculoskeletal & kinesiology arm & hand; palpating &
movement. Homework: chap 21 pgs 422-426, 465-486, ACB 31-33 (55-57)
● Thursday December 7: Barb: Review m/s & kinesiology of arm & hand; (Dr. Bob)
practice sequence upper extremities supine.. Homework: chap 21 match 1 & 5
● Sunday December 10: Michelle: Musculoskeletal & Kinesio neck, head & face,
Homework Pgs 436-438 & 517-533 ACB 22-24 (44-46)
● Tuesday December 12: Michelle: Review m/s & kinesiology neck, head & face:(Dr.
Bob) practice sequence neck, head & face Homework: chap. 21 Matching 7
● Thursday December 14: Peter: Digestive system, Homework: chap 29, match 1 & 2,
ACB 134
● Sunday December 17: Kathy: Endocrine sys., chakras. Homework: chap 24
match 1 & 2, ACB 149

● Tuesday December 19: Kathy: Geriatric massage, Homework: chap.13 pgs.
212-218
● Thursday December 21: Michelle: 90 minute full body massage partners A & B
● WINTER BREAK DECEMBER 22- JANUARY 6
● Sunday January 7: Kathy: 60 min full body massage
● Tuesday January 9: Peter: Nervous system. Homework: chap 23 Matching 1 & 2,
ACB
68-71
● Thursday January 11: Barb: Hydrotherapy, Paraffin dips, Homework chap 12,
matching 1 & 2
● Sunday January 14: Michelle: Contrast treatments
● Tuesday January 16: Kathy: Reproductive system, prenatal massage, Homework:
chap 25, pgs 201-208, ACB 68-71
● Thursday January 18: Barb: Practice prenatal massage, partner A & B
Homework: chap. Pgs. 201-208
● Sunday January 21: Michelle: Respiratory System. 60 min full body,
Homework, chap 28 matching 1 & 2, ACB 127

● Tuesday January 23: Peter: Sports Massage, pre & post event
● Thursday January 25: Barb: Hot Stone Massage
● Sunday January 28: Michelle: full musculo-kinesiology review
● Tuesday January 30: Peter: Lymphatic & immune systems. Homework: chap 27
match 1 & 2, ACB 120, 121
● Thursday February 1: Barb: full skeletal review, dry brushing
● Sunday February 4: Kathy: Full review Jeopardy
● Tuesday February 6: Andrea: Clinical Practice
● Thursday February 8: Barb: Written exam, practice massage
● Sunday February 11: Kathy: Practical final

Kathy Julia. 808-375-3465. Jultouch.kj@gmail.com
Katie Fisher 808-721-8342 QSMHH.school@gmail.com
Barbara Hart 808-348-5763, BarbaraMHart@gmail.com
Michelle Carbonneau 808-393-9585 Mlcarby@yahoo.com
Andrea Kamahele 808-349-8441 AKamahele1111@gmail.com
Peter Shin 808-221-5457 Petershin68@gmail.com

View full calendar